Smt. P. R. Shyamala

Smt. P. R. Shyamala was a famous novelist and short story writer of Malayalam literature. Known for novels such as Sararanthal and Makayiram Kayal and short stories compiled in Harishri and Ariyapedatha Peedanangal, she was a member of the Sahitya Pravartaka Sahakarana Sanghom, the general council of the Kerala Sahitya Akademi and the advisory board of the Central Board of Film Certification. Three of her stories have been adapted into films and Sararanthal was an award winning television series made in 1991, based on her novel of the same name.

Distinguished Alumni